Ampthill Town Council

Temporary visitor hours to the Town Council offices are: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 10.00am to 4.00pm and Friday 10am to midday.  You can also contact us on 01525 404355 or email:

We are requesting that all visitors please wear a face covering when entering the building (unless an exemption applies) and use the hand sanitser provided.  Thank you

Throughout England parish and town councils work towards improving community well being and providing better services at a local level. They are the tier of local government below the level of the unitary council, here in Ampthill this is Central Bedfordshire Council. Town and parish councils are the tier of local government closet to the people.

Ampthill Town Council (formerly Ampthill Urban District Council) has been a successor Town Council since April 1974, pursuant to the Local Government Act 1972. Ampthill is situated in Mid Bedfordshire, with a population of approximately 8,100. The Town Council was awarded Quality Gold status in April 2015 and was the first Council in the country to achieve Quality Gold.

The Council comprises 12 members and meets regularly at the Council Chambers. The Mayor/Chairman of Ampthill at present is Councillor Mark Smith and the Deputy/Vice Chairman is Councillor Jake Bishop.

Our offices are situated at Park Lodge, Ampthill Great Park (central car park entrance), Woburn Street, Ampthill, MK45 2HX. Tel: 01525 404355, Email: